TEDC Honors Cities with Community Economic Development Awards

The Texas Economic Development Council (TEDC) has announced the recipients of its annual Community Economic Development Awards (CEDA) for 2022.
The awards will be presented at the Award Luncheon at the TEDC’s 2022 Annual Conference on Thursday, October 20, 2022 in San Antonio, Texas.
The Community Economic Development Award program recognizes exceptional contributions of TEDC member cities toward the economic vitality of their communities and the state of Texas through creativity, leadership, and partnership in the achievement of business retention, business recruitment and community improvement.

The CEDA committee received twenty-four applications this year. Nominees were judged on five criteria: innovativeness, transferability, community commitment and leverage, measured objectives, and secondary benefits.
Communities nominated included: Population Less than 10,000 – Everman, Kaufman, and Navasota. Population 10,001 to 20,000 – Fate, Lockhart, Rockport, Stephenville, and Taylor. Population 20,001 to 50,000 – Corsicana, Saginaw, Sherman, and The Colony. Population 50,001 to 100,000 – Cedar Park, Grapevine, Pflugerville, Pharr, and Temple. Population 100,001 to 250,000 – Abilene and Amarillo. Population 250,001 and Above – Borderplex Alliance/El Paso, Brazos Valley, Crossroads-Dallas, Laredo College, Workforce Solutions Borderplex.
The 2022 CEDA recipients in population categories are:
•Population Less than 10,000: City of Navasota
•Population 10,001 to 20,000: Taylor Economic Development Corporation
•Population 20,001 to 50,000: Sherman Economic Development Corporation
•Population 50,001 to 100,000: Temple Economic Development Corporation
•Population 100,001 to 250,000: Amarillo Economic Development Corporation
•Population 250,001 and Above: Borderplex Alliance :
•Innovativeness: Brazos Valley Economic Development Corporation
•Transferability: City of Corsicana
•Community Commitment and Leverage: Cedar Park Economic Development Corporation
•Measured Objectives: City of Lockhart
•Secondary Benefits: Pharr Economic Development Corporation
“Our Community Economic Development Award is one of the ways in which our organization honors the excellent work done by our communities, their leaders, and their economic development professionals,” noted Wesley Burnett, 2022 Board Chair of the Texas Economic Development Council. “Each community nominated achieved excellence in economic development and substantially improved the economic base of their respective regions. The recipient communities in each population category were recognized for extraordinary accomplishments in meeting the criteria set forth in the nomination process.”
The TEDC provides information, education and legislative services to its members to foster the expansion of existing businesses, the location of new firms and the development of strategies that promote a positive business climate in Texas. With 930 members, the TEDC is the largest state economic development association in the nation.


Learn More →

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: