Navarro County Historical Commission RECEIVES AWARD FROM Texas Historical Commission

The NCHC received a distinguished award from the Texas Historical Commission. Pictured (seated from left to right) are NCHC board members Sheryl Hicks, Faith Boyd, Chair – Dr. Mary Jane McReynolds, and Secretary Stephen R. Farris. Standing are Kit Herrington, Vice-Chair Les Cotten, Margaret Montgomery, and Preston Bonner. (Courtesy photo)

The Navarro County Historical Commission (NCHC) has been awarded a 2021 Distinguished Service Award from the Texas Historical Commission (THC).
This annual award affirms NCHC appointees for managing well-rounded history and preservation-related programs that enrich Texas communities.
“Our preservation partners faced great challenges from the pandemic, but they redirected their efforts and ensured that history programming and preservation projects continued in communities across Texas,” said THC Executive Director Mark Wolfe. “The Navarro County Historical Commission has demonstrated remarkable resiliency and innovation, and we are happy to honor its extraordinary volunteers with the 2021 Distinguished Service Award.”
Texas CHCs provided more than 284,046 volunteer hours in 2021, which is an in-kind donation to the state valued at more than $8.5 million. CHC contributions in 2021 are remarkable given challenges presented by the pandemic.
The THC assists more than 200 CHCs through programs and services that preserve Texas’ heritage for the education, enjoyment, and economic benefit of present and future generations. The THC’s advisory role to CHCs is outlined in the Texas Local Government Code, the statute that enables county commissioners’ courts to establish CHCs. The volunteer appointees, as directed by county officials, initiate and conduct programs that preserve the historic and cultural resources of Texas.
The THC received 193 CHC annual reports for the 2021 year of service and 82 of those CHCs were approved for a Distinguished Service Award.
For more information about CHCs in Texas, visit or contact the History Programs Division at 512-463-5853.


Learn More →

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: